Writing

Growing Up

At first sight,

He is loved,

When he first speaks,

He is celebrated,

On his first birthday,

He was a goofball,

His first steps,

Took him farther then he could imagine,

His first day at school,

Was one that I worried,

His first friend,

Is one he will keep forever,

At night,

I would read to  him,

And when he slept,

He was peaceful,

His first test,

Wasn’t an easy one,

His first girlfriend,

Not more than a day did it last,

His first heart break,

Also broke my heart,

His first day in middle school,

Opened my eyes of how old he is,

His first sport,

Same day he broke his leg,

His first not,

From a trombone was grand,

His first game,

Was cheerful,

His first concert,

Speechless,

Another girlfriend,

Only a month did it last,

And into high school,

Where I wish I could reverse time,

To see him little again,

His first time being bullied,

It had hurt a lot,

But in the end,

He was protected,

By his friends and family around him,

His first solo,

He was so nervous,

All those eyes on him,

But I cheered,

And cried,

Know my baby boy was growing up,

Another girlfriend,

I was sure wouldn’t last,

Never left,

His graduation

My tears like Niagara Falls,

His acceptance into college,

One that will make him pursue his dreams,

A marriage letter,

The greatest day of his life,

A first child,

A baby girl,

One he will spoil and love,

And now he will know what I see in him,

Through all the years,

And will still see in him,

Until my untimely death.

Standard

Leave a comment